Areté: Values for Everyday Living (For Kinder to Grade 6)

Textbook Series Description

Areté: Values for Everyday Living is a series of Values Education books from Kinder to Grade Six. It is carefully designed to help the children acquire the fundamental values in life. It aims to make the learners appreciate themselves as special people with many abilities and talents. Moreover, it helps them to become aware of their relationship with their family, with others, and with God.

Values are standards for determining what is right and wrong and what is proper and improper. Values Education is a joint responsibility of the home, school, and society. All should share in the molding of children to become better persons.

The structured learning experiences in the series is presented in such a way that the learners themselves discover what they value and apply these values in the choices ad decisions they make in life. If values are indeed caught, the learners are thus guided to catch the values that come from the learning experiences which they will process with the teacher.

The book contains attractively illustrated stories and attributes relevant to the learners’ life experiences. The lessons also provide the learners with opportunities to learn and practice authentically human values.

Product Specifications

Ms. Lowina C. Fernando
Ms. Myrna C. Lutaos
Ms. Nora T. Cruz.
Ms. Ma. Desiree D. Gallano
Ms. Grace T. Lansangan
Mr. Oliver G. Meneses,

BOOK SIZE 8.0’’ x 10.5’’
NUMBER OF PAGES P - 256, Gr. 1 - 240, Gr.2 - 272,
Gr. 3 - 256, Gr. 4- 224, Gr. 5 - 224, Gr. 6 - 240


Textbook Features

It contains activities and exercises which enhance the learning process.

Teachers's Manual

The Teacher’s Manual contains the detailed lesson plan for each lesson which shows the following: Lesson Title, Values to be Developed, Instructional Materials, Preliminary Activities, and the Lesson Proper: Human Experience, Processing, Reinforcing, Invitation, Things to Do, and Things to Remember. The pages from the pupil’s text found in the Teacher’s Manual makes it easier for the teacher to refer to the part of the lesson being discussed.

Textbook Outline


Unit I A Beautiful World
Unit II The People Around Me
Unit III Doing What is Right
Unit IV Trusting in God


Unit I My Surroundings and I
Unit II My Family and Friends
Unit III My Beautiful Life
Unit IV My Duties to God and Others


Unit I Appreciation of Life
Unit II Loving Our Family
Unit III Doing My Best
Unit IV Having Faith in God


Unit I Appreciating God’s Gifts
Unit II Caring for Others
Unit III Doing the Right Thing
Unit IV Having Faith in God


Unit I What’s Around Me
Unit II I Love My Family and Community
Unit III How I See Myself
Unit IV Who Influences Me


Unit I Caring for God’s Gifts
Unit II Serving Others
Unit III Choosing What is Right
Unit IV Trusting in God


Unit I Caring for Life
Unit II Serving Others
Unit III Doing Things Right
Unit IV Trusting in God